Mr. Phillips' class Blog

A brief summary of what happened daily in Mr. Phillips's classes

LA 10 5/16 and 5/17

leave a comment »

Yesterday we went over the poem of the day, “A supermarket in California,” by Allen Ginsberg and then went over a review sheet, which you will be able to use on your quiz tomorrow. Today we went over our poem of the day, “1861,” by Walt Whitman, then we wrote our own poems, spending about five minutes writing on each of the following prompts:

  1. Write a line that begins with the following phrase but fills in the blanks: “Before I knew how to _____ I used to _____.” For example, “Before I knew how to sing without caring what anyone thought of me, I used to sing only into my hairbrush.” Use more than one word to fill each blank. Be honest. Take a risk.
  2. Write a line that begins with the following phrase but fills in the blanks: “People think I’m _____ but I am _____.” For example, “People think I’m a loose cannon, but I am anything but loose; I’m a sniper with my cannon.”
  3. Write three relatively short sentences that all begin with the words “I am the one who . . .” For instance, “I am the one who used to wish my brother would die. I am the one leaves dishes in the sink, but not for someone else to wash. I am the one who keeps thinking he can speak Chinese.”
  4. Write a sentence that begins, “In the circus of my family . . .” For instance, “In the circus of my family everyone has to walk the tightrope, tame the lions, and clean up after the elephant.”
  5. Write the most honest observation you can about yourself. Take a risk. Put it out there. “I thought the feeling of being a fraud would go away as I got better and better at what I do, but it hasn’t. It’s like all I’ve really become better at is being a bigger fraud.”
  6. Write about the exact time and circumstance in which you will come back to haunt the living if you were to die tragically. Or write about how and by whom you are haunted. “Rebecca comes to me most days at exactly 12:34, which I told her was the hour I would come visit her if I died first. She’s not trying to scare me, just say “Hi. I’m here. And I forgive you.”
  7. Pick one of the prompts you responded to and revise it so as to include a vivid color.

In case you misplaced it here are the questions that you should answer for the poems of the day:

  1. What is the title and author of the poem?
  2. What is the theme of the poem?
  3. What line or lines best illustrate the theme?
  4. What is the rhyme scheme of the poem?
  5. What other poetry techniques does the poet use?
Written by CRWashPhillips

May 17, 2012 at 2:04 pm

Posted in LA 10

Leave a Reply

